Authorization tools - advantages and limitations
User Information System (SUIM)
Every SAP system (ERP) must be migrated to SAP S/4HANA® in the next few years. This technical migration should definitely be audited by an internal or external auditor.
First, select the authorization object that you want to maintain. There can be multiple permissions for each authorization object. Then load the trace data by clicking the Evaluate Trace button. A new window will open again, where you can set the evaluation criteria for the trace and limit the filter for applications either to applications in the menu or to all applications. Once the trace has been evaluated, you will be presented with all checked permission values for the selected authorization object. With the Apply button, you can now take the values line by line, column by column, or field by field. In the left part of the window, you will see the permission values added to the suggestion values already visible. After confirming these entries, you will be returned to the detail view of your role. You can see here the additions to the permission values for your authorization object.
The SAP authorization concept protects transactions, programs, services and information in SAP systems against unauthorized access. Based on the authorization concept, the administrator assigns users the authorizations that determine the actions this user can perform in the SAP system after logging on and being authenticated.
After all authorizations are maintained, the role must be saved and generated and a user comparison must be performed. However, this should not be a topic here in the article. This can also be done with the transaction PFUD (see comments to the article "SAP BC: Empty user buffer" :-).
Authorizations can also be assigned via "Shortcut for SAP systems".
A note box in which data of all kinds can be quickly filed and retrieved. This is what Scribble Papers promises. At first, the program looks very spartan. But once a small structure is in place, you realise the great flexibility of this little helper.
As soon as a Database User is deleted, all (!) database objects created by this Database User are also deleted.
In addition to the roles in which authorization objects and authorization values are entered, so-called business roles are also required.